Amal Academy — A Family ❤

Anees Hashmi
3 min readJun 19, 2021

--

Let’s meet a boy, who is 20 and is an engineering student. He is shy and lacks confidence. He does not know what can he really do with his life, he is actually unaware of himself. He has learned various engineering principles and met people from different backgrounds, but never met himself. He has the potential but no directions for his career and future. This uncertainty often makes him worried, but no one actually introduced him to own self. This is my story, and of many other youngsters, who have the passion, potential, and talent to do big things in their life which can transform the lives of many others, but they don’t know how can they reach there. They have life goals, but really vague, they know the answer to questions asked to them but not the confidence to answer, they always have worth sharing ideas but not the courage to pitch them, they want to interact and make new friends but fear to do so. This is me, we, us.

Approximately three months ago one of my friends suggested applying for a fellowship offered by Amal Academy, I agreed but was dubious if I can even be part of this program. We applied, and got accepted, this was an achievement for us.

Soon I realized that I had landed on a new planet that had its own principles, rules, people, and much more. Here I met some of the most amazing people I have ever met, they were always there to help, to support, to celebrate, and to make you laugh. I had not expected that I can come out of my comfort zone in no time, it was not due to my effort, it was due to the safe environment, creative design, and unmatchable support from our batch facilitators and the fellows. It did not take me long to begin sharing my ideas and speak my mind without any hesitation. I was getting prepared for my career, and the professional setting in a way that was fun. Every weakly live session was incredibly unique.

We had our last live session last weekend, it was quite emotional and memorable. There was a little mix of sadness and some happiness in the air. Fellows had happy because they had another achievement on their side, it was a feeling of accomplishment. But we had become a family and there won’t be sessions like that anyone made us feel sad. Those three hours went by so fast, we had planned to say thank you to our facilitators with our handwritten placards. We all decided to stay back after the session to play some games together. No one wanted to say goodbye, but we were going to stay in touch and will be right there whenever anyone needs any help or support. WE ARE A FAMILY AND WE WILL REMAIN A FAMILY- InshaAllah ❤

Throughout the fellowship, I have learned a lot and it has left a very positive impression on my personality, attitude, productivity, and my way of thinking. These three months brought me some of the best experiences I have ever had. I had decided to apply for this fellowship without any idea of how it can help me boost positivity in my life.
I want to say thank you to the entire Amal team, and especially my fellow fellows and the facilitators (PM and PA) for all the wonderful memories and learnings. ❤

--

--