A Journey of Self Exploration — Amal Academy Fellowship ❤

Anees Hashmi
2 min readJun 11, 2021

--

It was a beautiful evening in March 2021, the sun was about to say goodbye and the relaxing breeze was really enjoyable. I was traveling towards my friend’s home and had to refuel my bike as it was running out of petrol. I decided to stop at a nearby petrol station on Shahrah-E-Faisal. I stopped at Shell petrol station outside PAF Faisal airbase. The weather was really amazing and the view was out of this world. The colors of twilight sunset were mesmerizing. It made me stop for a few more moments to enjoy the scenes of changing colors of the sky, the breeze, and fast-running traffic along a line of palm trees.

Shahrah e Faisal, Karachi

I parked my bike and took my phone out to capture those views. I got a call right when I was about to click the photo. It was a welcome call from Amal Academy and the caller was our batch’s program manager, ma’am Ayesha Amin. I did not know her at that time, but that call really boosted my energy and excitement for our first live session. The first session started with an ice breaker activity and I had never imagined that I could talk and interact with many “strange” people. I soon realized how important news that call had brought to me, something that has helped me explore my potential and areas of improvement.

The whole Amal fellowship journey has been really amazing. When I signed up for this fellowship, I was a really shy person with no confidence in engaging with new people. I had no clarity of thoughts and future plans. I had never explored my own self or set specific goals to work for. I was really reluctant to talk to people just because of thinking of being judged, but our program manager and program associate created a safe space for me, and many others, to let us come out of our comfort zone and challenge our limits. Today I really feel confident, motivated, and energetic to follow my dream and achieve my lifelong goals.

Whenever I pass from this place it reminds me of this call which actually changed my life by offering me a beautiful fellowship. I am really thankful to the entire Amal team, especially the people who took this initiative and our batch’s PM and PA for all the wonderful memories and for having an unforgettable positive impact on my life. I really appreciate all your efforts, dedication, and hard work.

--

--